Health Harvest

After my last blog I got information on where to buy things from the most unexpected sources, several people phoned or messaged me with helpful information , goes to show just how little we really know about each other doesn’t it? It was unexpectedly nice and useful. One of the earliest phone calls was about Health Harvest.

I had heard about Health Harvest and their provision of Gluten free products but the only branch I was sure of was the one in Mohendiseen, which was just too far for me to get with my cupboard full of lovely gluten free products courtesy of my recent trip to Saudi Arabia. I had heard that one existed in Nasr City but no one was sure where-until this phone call. Turns out I had walked past it over a million times and never registered as the name is written in Arabic and the shop window is empty. In fact at first glance I thought the shop was abandoned or closed. If you know Bikya (the original branch) it is near there!

________________________________

How to find it

The Nasr City branch is behind Tiba mall, or more accurately if you are on Nasr st (there is some question as to the name of this road, the main on with Rab3a el 3dawiya , Midan el sah3a and the beginning of Abbas el Akkad, Makram Ebeid and Nozha streets. So if you are on that street heading towards Abbas from Salah Salem, take the first right after Raba3a el Adawiya mosque before he Traffic Police thinngy building (Morooor). It is a very short narrow road there is koshk at the end of it. Turn left. You can actually park and walk from here. Right after the traffic building on your left hand side are several shops one of the first is Health Harvest. The sign is blue with red writing.

________________________

Once you get in there is a whole array of gluten free choices, almost entire section is dedicated to it.

Shelves of Gluten Free products

LOOK BROWNIE MIX!

Including several bread and pizza base mixes. I had the apple and cinnamon mix while I was visiting my parents and it is very nice, so go wild! They have other things too including miso, sea salt, wasabi powder (which I obviously HAD to buy), sesame oil, gluten free pasta and Soya Milk.  It’s an expensive trip I spent nearly LE 400 on not alot of things.

_____________________________

The Biggest Surprise find:

Agave Syrup: Before the whole Gluten Lacto free malarkey last year I was looking at the GL diet recipe book and gave up primarily because all the ‘new’ recipes called for Agave syrup which I didn’t think was available here. It tastes rather like عسل اسود or black honey which I am guessing is molasses but not 100% sure.

 

Potentially Most Useful Finds

Buckwheat Berries (can be used to make GFflour) , Sorghum flour, GF baking powder and GF rolled oats.

Disappointments

Sadly they don’t carry Xanthan gum and not all  the flours in the Gluten Free section ARE gluten free the biggest glaring error of all is their cornmeal. For some unknown reason though non-GF  cornflour is availbe here AND Bob’s Red Mill produce a Gluten free version they have chose not to import that but instead to import the ‘normal’ one. If you ever get a  chance to go in do me a favour and make a point of mentioning this to them and suggesting they get the other kind in!

http://www.bobsredmill.com/gluten-free-corn-flour.html

http://www.bobsredmill.com/gluten-free-medium-cornmeal.html

http://www.bobsredmill.com/gluten-free-corn-grits_polenta.html?&cat=15

Make sure you read the labels carefully!

Best of All

Definitely and without a doubt, Eden Organic Yellow Mustard  it is expensive but out of this world GORGEOUS. Take a word of advice, hide it from anyone who doesn’t need it you are not going to want to share.

ALL MINE!!!

So that was Health Harvest hope it was useful to you. : )

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hanan Ammar
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 19:35:03

    There is a Post Office for parcels up that same road, if that helps identify it for anyone. Most people will call the main road the autostrade.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: How to make Gram (chickpea) flour « Living Gluten and Lactose Free in Egypt
  3. vailtribe
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 12:13:58

    I have been trying to get the Alexandria branch to see if they have the same things and its very! difficalt to get a hold of anyone if you know of a way please let me know thanks… What are the hours of this store (assuming the hours are the same)

    Reply

    • Leila
      Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:27:08

      I wasn’t aware there WAS an Alexandrian branch, so I am sorry I don’t know. As to the store hours for the Nasr City branch I will chase it up for you. :)

      Reply

    • Leila
      Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:27:10

      I wasn’t aware there WAS an Alexandrian branch, so I am sorry I don’t know. As to the store hours for the Nasr City branch I will chase it up for you. :)

      Reply

  4. Sara
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 07:00:52

    01008509164 thats the number for the Alexandria branch. You’re welcome :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

